Contact Me...

Friday, 14 December 2018

#TheSilentPatient @AlexMichaelides @orionbooks





About The Silent Patient 


ALICIA

Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet - and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can't bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

THEO

Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia's silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?



My review of The Silent Patient 






The Silent Patient was an energising, shocking and addictive read. I kept telling myself, just five more minutes, but this inevitably stretched out to an hour. It's that good. I couldn't put it down.

This book works on so many different levels. It's a chilling thriller of a read, in that we do not know why Alicia shot her husband five times. This in itself is both shocking and disturbing, but as we read Alicia's diary and Theo's thoughts, we learn even more disturbing facts. I was on the edge of my seat as I was drawn deeper into this deeply disturbing tale.

We also have two engaging central characters. Alicia is the silent patient, but we learn about her from her diary entries and what is said about her by the doctors and other patients in the secure psychiatric hospital. Although her actions are unthinkable and barbaric, I felt great sympathy towards Alicia. I knew that I should not feel this way, as the woman we read of In the diary entries is a juxtaposition to the woman who killed her husband. I too, wanted to solve the mystery.

We then have Alex, the psychotherapist, 
and it was him that I found most interesting. He becomes obsessed with the case and making Alicia speak. He is convinced that he is the only one who can make her talk and this is his driving force. Here is a man with his own secrets and troubled past which influence his decisions today I found him most fascinating and the scenes between him and Alicia simply fizzed with tension and unease on the page. I found myself holding my breath. 

This is one disturbing and gripping read. Why did Alicia kill her husband? Did she kill her husband? Why will she not speak? I had so many theories that  came and went as I progressed through the book. And I was shocked as to what had really happened. The ending blew me away. 

The Silent Patient is a clever; unique and disturbing thriller. Believe the hype. This book is already huge.

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing a review copy. 

The Silent Patient is publushed by Orion on 7th Feb. 

Wednesday, 12 December 2018

#ThePromise @TeresaDriscoll #BookReview



About The Promise

The chilling new psychological thriller from the #1 bestselling author of I Am Watching You.

It was their darkest secret. Three schoolgirls made a promise – to take the horrible truth of what they did to the grave.

Thirty years later, Beth and Sally have tried to put the trauma behind them. Though Carol has distanced herself from her former friends, the three are adamant that the truth must never come to light, even if the memory still haunts them.

But when some shocking news threatens to unearth their dark secret, Beth enlists the help of private investigator Matthew Hill to help her and Sally reconnect with estranged Carol ­– before the terrible act they committed as teenagers is revealed.

Beth wishes she could take back the vow they made.

But somebody is watching and will stop at nothing to ensure the secret stays buried. Now, with her beloved family in peril, can Beth still keep the promise?

My review of The Promise



I thoroughly enjoyed this dark and brooding psychological thriller. The premise of a dark hidden secret and a promise to keep that secret between three schoolgirls instantly grabbed my attention. I needed to find out what had happened and how this  secret and the promise they made had impacted all of their lives.

The writing simmered with unease as I followed Beth's story. Now a married mum, it was evident on the page that her past and the shared secret still had an impact on her life today.

Throughout the story we catch glimpses of what happened in the past between Beth, Sally and Carol. But it's not until the very end that the truth is revealed and it did shock me. It is this secret that binds the story together and which made me race through the pages in my need to discover the truth.

I loved Beth. She's a likeable character and was very real to me. I found her relationship with Sally fascinating, learning how the two girls had bonded over this shared secret and whose relationship continued to grow through into adulthood. Beth's struggle to keep the secret at all costs, and to reconnect with Carol were completely understandable.

We then have the additional storyline involving Matthew, the private investigator,  who helps Beth and Sally in their search for Carol, knowing that there is far more to the story. I loved the interaction between these three characters and the fact that Matthew had his own secret.

The Promise is an unsettling and entertaining read. Packed with tension, dark secrets and a truth that will shock. The author tackles a sensitive subject with empathy and understanding.

If you love psychological thrillers with characters that you deeply care for and a griping plot, then you'll enjoy this book.

With thanks to the publisher for the Advanced Reader Copy  for review purposes.

The Promise is published by Thomas & Mercer on 7 Feb. 2019.

Monday, 10 December 2018

#TheChestnutMan #SørenSveistrup #NordicNoir



About The Chestnut Man

One blustery October morning in a quiet Copenhagen suburb, the police make a terrible discovery. A young woman is found brutally murdered with one of her hands missing. Above her hangs a small doll made of chestnuts.

Ambitious young detective Naia Thulin is assigned the case. Her partner, Mark Hess, is a burned-out investigator who's just been kicked out of Europol. They soon discover a mysterious piece of evidence on the chestnut man - evidence connecting it to a girl who went missing a year earlier and is presumed dead; the daughter of politician Rosa Hartung. The man who confessed to her murder is behind bars and the case long since closed.

Soon afterwards, a second woman is found murdered, along with another chestnut man. Thulin and Hess suspect that there's a connection between the Hartung case and the murdered women. But what is it?

Thulin and Hess are racing against the clock, because it's clear that the killer is on a mission that is far from over . . .

My review of The Chestnut Man 




Wow. This book is amazing! it's dark, it's disturbing, it's sexy and it has so many twists and turns with an ending that truly shocked ne. As soon as I saw the cover and read the blurb I knew I needed to read this book. The Killing still remains one of my favourite TV shows, and so I hoped to read a book that would echo its darkness, energy, and sinister goings-on. I wasn't disapointed. This is an addictive, disturbing and clever work of Nordic noir that kept me gripped until the very last page. I loved it.

The book opens with a deeply disturbing and unsettling scene that sets the tone for the entire book. Set thirty years before present day events,  you don't know what relevance this has to the present day storyline, but it has the effect of making you feel uneasy and on your guard.

We are then introduced to Naia Thulin, a detective with the  Copenhagen police and single mum. She is partnered with Mark Hess, a detective who has been kicked out of Europol and who has been put on the case, with most thinking he is not up to the job. These two characters make such a wonderful partnership. I loved their interactions. 

Thulin speaks her mind, is strong, resourceful and wants to leave the department in search of a  promotion.  The murders give her a chance to prove herself and she wants to fight for the victims, to solve the case. Hess also becomes heavily invested and begins to uncover many truths. He believes that the murders are linked to the Rosa Hartung case, the politician whose daughter was murdered. But will anyone take him seriously because of what happened in his past?

This book is a brilliant crime thriller and is  dark, gruesome and grisly, with a sense of foreboding running throughout. But there is humour to be found and a real human element, as I cared deeply for these two detectives and the Hartung family. I felt very protective towards them. 

The book reads very much like a film. I could see the action and setting so clearly in my mind, not surprising as Søren Sveistrup wrote The Killing. it will make a fabulous TV series.

The Chestnut Man is dark and derails some disturbing and upsetting storylines. But all are in context and integral to the overall plot. One thing is for sure, i will never look at chestnuts in quite the same way again. If you love your nordic noir, then cosy on up with this book when it's released in January.


With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy.

The Chestnut Man is published by Michael Joseph on 10 Jan. 2019)

Tuesday, 4 December 2018

#AChristmasGift @SueMoorcroft @AvonBooksUK






About A Christmas Gift 


One Christmas can change everything…

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

My review of A Christmas Gift 




A Christmas Gift is a wonderful, cosy, romantic read. It makes you feel good and it was such a treat to curl up in my favourite chair to read this story. It's a beautiful modern day romance set at Christmas and I loved it. 

Georgine France is in a spot of trouble. Her ex boyfriend, Aidan, has left her with mounting debts and she is struggling to pay them. Ever cheerful and resourceful, Georgine throws herself into work at the local college as they prepare for their Christmas production. Now, Georgine  is a fabulous character There is so much to like about her. She is clever, resourceful, giving and cares about her local community. I couldn't help but like her.

We then have Joe Blackthorne, who comes into her life as the new assistant director and oh my, I fell in love with him. Here is a man who on the surface appears to have it all, but he too has his own secrets. His storyline I found quite emotional, and I think Ms Moorcroft got his back story spot on. There is an obvious attraction  between Joe and Georgine that simply fizzled on the page. I loved their interactions. 

Although a beautiful winter romance, this book does touch upon serious issues, like those of financial debts. This is incredibly  relevant to the world we live in today, with food banks, and austeerity. This issue was dealt with gently and with compassion and understanding. It's a book for our modern times. 

A Christmas Gift is the perfect read for those cold winter nights.  It restores your faith in humanity as you read about this close knit  village community. A pure joy to read. 

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the digital review copy. 

A Christmas Gift was published by Avon 4th October. 

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

#Scrublands #ChrisHammer @Wildfirebks




About Scrublands 

A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets...

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.



My review of Scrublands




Scrublands is a compelling crime novel set in the blistering heat of the Australian scrublands and it captivated me from beginning to end. 

The novel opens with the shocking and disturbing actions of the young local priest, who on a quiet Sunday morning before church shoots dead five men. I was left shocked and bewildered as to why he would commit such an evil  act. So too are the inhabitants of Riversend, who exist on a day to day basis in their dying town. 

Martin Scarsden is the outdider, the journalist who visits the town one year  after the shootings to write an article about how the town is coping one year on. But Martin starts to as is questions about the young priest and therefore who knew nim, digging deeper to  try and unearth the truth. Then, when two bodies are dis covered in thescrublands, he begins to investigate what has happened in this sleepy town, that most people strive to leave. 

This is an incredibly clever crime novel with a huge emphasis on setting and characterisation. I began to care deeply about Martin, and was hugely invested in him and his own struggle with his past. This inner struggle and need for acceptance is played out in the colourful characters that he meets in the town. You are never quite sure who you can trust and who is telling the truth. Just like Martin, I felt very much like the outsider and  desperately needed to know the truth. 

The oppressive, cloying heat and almost claustrophobic setting of Riversend creates a novel in which you can smell the heat and taste the dry air. It creates a sense of unease and highlights the realities of living in this type of town where everyone knows your name and personal business.

This debut novel is a dazzling and all consuming read about love, past atrocities and mental health. It's about a sense of community that is both suffocating and protective at the same time. It's a story that will stay with me for a very long time. 

With thanks to @Bookywookydooda for sending me a review copy for review purposes. 

Scrublands is published by Wildfire in hardback on  8 Jan. The kindle version is available to read now. 

Friday, 23 November 2018

#BloodWhiteAndBlue @JamesSilvester1 @urbanebooks





About Blood, White and Blue

Love, deception and murder dominate as thriller writer James Silvester delivers the first in the Lucie Musilova series.

Britain is a hotbed of racial tension and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected MP, can bring about a successful resolution to the talks. But a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees.

Lucie Musilova meanwhile, is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she meets 'Mr. Lake', the eccentric Head of a branch of the intelligence services known as The Overlappers, and is press-ganged into service on the Hartnell case.

As events spiral out of control it soon becomes clear it is not just the future of the nation that is at stake, but Lucie's very life....

The new thriller from the bestselling author of Escape to Perdition and The Prague Ultimatum, is a gripping tale of corruption and perfect for fans of Luke Jennings, Daniel Silva and Stella Rimington. If you're a fan of Killing Eve you'll love this!

My review of Blood, White and Blue




Wow. Where do I start with this book, other than to say it is utterly brilliant. I raced through the pages. It has everything. A plot that twists and turns, lots of fast paced action, Brexit and a kick-ass heroine who you just can't help but admire and root for. I loved this book!

Lucie Musilova is the star of this book and  she is completely mesmerising. She has a colourful past, having worked as a chaplain in the RAF, something which surprised me, given how she responded to a group of men who  attacked her while she was working aboard a ship on its way to England. I won't say what happens, but this truly captured my attention. I needed to know more about this woman and what had happened to her. I needed to understand her.

This book tackles some serious issues head on, such as political unrest surrounding Brexit, political scandal, immigration and the growing sense of unease  created  by the far right. It's a thought provoking read that is hugely  relevant to today's political climate, and although a bloody good thriller, the social commentary running throughout the plot, creates an in depth and moving read about a woman who is hugely misunderstood.

Blood, White and Blue is the first book in the Lucie Musilova series and I honestly can't wait to read the next instalment.

I purchased my own kindle copy of the book.

Blood, White and Blue was purblished on November 8th by Urbane.

Thursday, 15 November 2018

#Hellcorp @JDWhitelaw13 @urbanebooks



About Hellcorp 

"Hellcorp sparkles like a blood-black diamond. Satan's got his work cut out in this darkly comic crime tale. A cracking read!" - Mark Leggatt

'HELLCORP combines suspense, humour, and philosophy in a startlingly unique novel. Whitelaw delights and entertains while leaving readers contemplating life's important issues. Don't miss this razor-sharp book.' --International bestseller K.J. Howe, author of THE FREEDOM BROKER and SKYJACK

Life is hard for The Devil and he desperately wants to take a holiday. Growing weary from playing the cosmic bad guy, he resolves to set up a company that will do his job for him so the sins of the world will tick over while he takes a vacation. God tells him he can have his vacation just as soon as he solves an ancient crime.

But nothing is ever easy and before long he is up to his pitchfork in solving murders, desperate to crack the case so he can finally take the holiday he so badly needs...

This is a perfectly-pitched darkly comic crime novel that is ideal for fans of Christopher Fowler and Ben Aaranovitch.



My review of Hellcorp



Hellcorp has been on my radar for quite a while now. As Halloween fast approached I knew it was the perfect time to pick this up and immerse myself in the world of the Devil and the afterlife. I loved every word.

This is a novel with rich darkly comic undertones that suited my reading style perfectly. It was the perfect pick me up read, with engaging characters, action packed scenes and a murder mystery to boot. This book really does have it all.

The main attraction for me was the Devil, and to be honest he was completely different to the impression that I had in my mind before I started reading this book. He's a much better version. He is charming and offensive all rolled into one. He made me laugh, he made me cringe, but ultimately he was honest and this was why I found myself drawn to him. i even fell a little bit in love with him, which took me completely by surprise. It's not just the Devil who gets to have fun though, as so does Jill Gideon, a doctor who he meets on earth, who has her own private battle to face.

As the book blurb states, even the Devil needs a holiday, and that is why he has been asked to solve a 40 year old murder. Doing so will grant him this wish, and what results is a breathtaking sequence of events as he tries to unravel the mysteries of the past. 

Hellcorp is a truly unique read. The Devil is a striking protagonist  that allows Jill Gideon to share his limelight. It's hugely entertaining, has lashings of razer sharp wit and a plot that will keep you guessing. I absolutely loved it. 

Hellcorp is available to buy now and is published by Urbane Publications.