Friday, 31 March 2017

Lost for Words by Stephanie Butland


About Lost for Words
  

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never show you.

Into her refuge - the York book emporium where she works - come a poet, a lover, a friend, and three mysterious deliveries, each of which stirs unsettling memories.

Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past and she can't hide any longer. She must decide who around her she can trust. Can she find the courage to right a heartbreaking wrong? And will she ever find the words to tell her own story?

It's time to turn the pages of her past . . .

Lost for Words is a compelling, irresistible and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and 84 Charing Cross Road.


My review of Lost for Words

Oh, where do I start? I adored this novel, from beginning to end. It really was a huge comfort read that talked about books, love, friendship and the reason for living. All of these themes were presented within a clever plot and with utterly likeable and believable characters. What's not to love?

So, the main protagonist is that of Loveday, a twenty-five-year- old woman who works in the bookshop, Lost for Words, in York. She is a tattooed, nose ring wearer, and I liked her the moment I met her. Loveday had a troubled childhood, which we slowly learn about in the chapters that are entitled, History. We also learn about her past relationship with Rob, in the chapters that are entitled, Crime. These stories are interspersed with the 'real time' chapters called, Poetry, named because of her new love and interest in poetry and poetry nights, fuelled by her new friend, Nathan. This book could have been very confusing to read, but we are able to pick out the events in Loveday's past that helped to shape her life as it is today. The way in which her story is told in these three separate chapter themes, is very clever, as it clearly defines the time frame in which we are reading, helping us to paint a fully rounded picture of who Loveday actually is. It was also such a treat to read about a character who loves books as much as I do.

This is a book full of wonderful characters, some you love, some you like less so. Loveday for me was the most striking and absorbing character, mostly because it is her story, we read and feel her thoughts, but also because she is so vulnerable, yet a fighter, someone who wants to love life but is not too sure of how to do so. Her story is heartbreaking yet poetic at the same time. I also wanted to learn of what had happened to her, the mystery that is her life, which is slowly revealed to us.

Archie, who owns the book shop is very much an eccentric and loveable character. It is very obvious that he cares deeply for Loveday, in the way that a father does, and his mannerisms and witty comments I particularly liked. My favourite character by far though, apart from Loveday, was that of Nathan, the poet, who has his own secrets. We slowly learn about his past and I grew to love him, in the way in which he supported and cared for Loveday.

This really is a lovely treat of a book, and is much deeper than the cover would suggest. It tackles
some serious life issues and how women are treated within relationships, especially those who are perceived to be weak and vulnerable. Issues of trust and forgiveness are also tackled, within the wonderful environment of the bookshelves.

I thoroughly enjoyed Lost for Words and the evocative environment of the second hand book shop. Loveday is a character who will also stay with me for a very long time.

Lost for Words is published by Bonnier Zaffre on 20 April and can be found on Amazon here.

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy. 



About the author

Stephanie Butland lives in Northumberland, close to the place where she grew up. She writes in a studio at the bottom of her garden, and loves being close to the sea. She's thriving after cancer.
Twitter: @under_blue_sky
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Stephanie-Butland-Author-282828548412029/
www.stephaniebutland.com
#Loveday




No comments:

Post a Comment