Contact Me...

Thursday, 15 November 2018

#Hellcorp @JDWhitelaw13 @urbanebooks



About Hellcorp 

"Hellcorp sparkles like a blood-black diamond. Satan's got his work cut out in this darkly comic crime tale. A cracking read!" - Mark Leggatt

'HELLCORP combines suspense, humour, and philosophy in a startlingly unique novel. Whitelaw delights and entertains while leaving readers contemplating life's important issues. Don't miss this razor-sharp book.' --International bestseller K.J. Howe, author of THE FREEDOM BROKER and SKYJACK

Life is hard for The Devil and he desperately wants to take a holiday. Growing weary from playing the cosmic bad guy, he resolves to set up a company that will do his job for him so the sins of the world will tick over while he takes a vacation. God tells him he can have his vacation just as soon as he solves an ancient crime.

But nothing is ever easy and before long he is up to his pitchfork in solving murders, desperate to crack the case so he can finally take the holiday he so badly needs...

This is a perfectly-pitched darkly comic crime novel that is ideal for fans of Christopher Fowler and Ben Aaranovitch.



My review of Hellcorp



Hellcorp has been on my radar for quite a while now. As Halloween fast approached I knew it was the perfect time to pick this up and immerse myself in the world of the Devil and the afterlife. I loved every word.

This is a novel with rich darkly comic undertones that suited my reading style perfectly. It was the perfect pick me up read, with engaging characters, action packed scenes and a murder mystery to boot. This book really does have it all.

The main attraction for me was the Devil, and to be honest he was completely different to the impression that I had in my mind before I started reading this book. He's a much better version. He is charming and offensive all rolled into one. He made me laugh, he made me cringe, but ultimately he was honest and this was why I found myself drawn to him. i even fell a little bit in love with him, which took me completely by surprise. It's not just the Devil who gets to have fun though, as so does Jill Gideon, a doctor who he meets on earth, who has her own private battle to face.

As the book blurb states, even the Devil needs a holiday, and that is why he has been asked to solve a 40 year old murder. Doing so will grant him this wish, and what results is a breathtaking sequence of events as he tries to unravel the mysteries of the past. 

Hellcorp is a truly unique read. The Devil is a striking protagonist  that allows Jill Gideon to share his limelight. It's hugely entertaining, has lashings of razer sharp wit and a plot that will keep you guessing. I absolutely loved it. 

Hellcorp is available to buy now and is published by Urbane Publications. 

Saturday, 3 November 2018

#OurLifeInADay @jamiefewery @orionbooks


About Our Life in a Day

Our Life in a Day is a breathtaking ten-year love story told in twenty-four individual hours - for fans of The Note by Zoe Folbigg, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, and One Day by David Nicholls.

The rules are simple. Choose the most significant moments from your relationship - one for each hour in the day.
You'd probably pick when you first met, right?
And the instant you knew for sure it was love?
Maybe even the time you watched the sunrise after your first night together?

But what about the car journey on the holiday where everything started to go wrong?
Or your first proper fight?

Or that time you lied about where you'd been?

It's a once in a lifetime chance to learn the truth. But if you had to be completely honest with the one you love, would you still play?

For Esme and Tom, the game is about to begin. And once they start, there's no going back . . .

My review of Our Life in a Day




Oh my heart. I absolutely loved this book. It's a story about love, about our mental health and of how we need to be true to each other, but more importantly, true to who we are.  It's a thought provoking read that l just simply adored it's a beautiful story.

Esme and Tom are about to celebrate their ten year anniversary together. Tom arrives home from work to find Esme wanting to play a game of remembrance. She has a stack of post it notes, and on each is written one hour of the day. They both have to take it in turns to write down a significant memory in time, all  within that time frame. 24 hours in a day, and Tom decides to play. I absolutely loved this idea of reminiscing about the past, of all those highly significant moments in time, but of course, not everything is good. 

This is an intense read, in that we get to know both Esme and Tom, warts and all. I love this kind of book, in which you delve into the character's soul to find out what makes them tick. By the end of the novel I felt like they were my friends. I loved them both dearly.

Our Life in a Day also doesn't shy away from the realities of a long term relationship and mental health issues, particularly the mental health of men and the fact that they feel the need to hide their feelings and problems that they face. This aspect was written beaufifuly,  with great empathy, and insight. It's a book that I feel will help us all to talk more openly about our mental health.

This is a modern day love story that tackles the realities of the modern relationship with wit, tenderness and truth. I loved every page. Highly recommended.

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy.

Our Life in a Day is published by Orion in Kindle on 27th December .

Paperback available April 2019.

Monday, 29 October 2018

#WinterWithoutYou @BethGoodWriter @Quercusbooks



About Winter Without You

What do you do when you lose everything?

After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it's time to face reality.

Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult man who quickly gets under her skin.

But as winter sets in, there's one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all..


My review of Winter Without You




Winter Without You is a pure delight. I enjoyed every single page. It's one of those books that you cosy up with, that allow you to escape the realities of the world. It's a warm and comforting hug of a book and I loved it.

Hannah is at the centre of the story. Following the death of her boyfriend she learns that she has inherited a cottage in Cornwall, and she makes the bold decision to relocate there in order to start her life afresh. She desperately  needs this new beginning and we follow her journey as she sets up home, makes friends and tries to make a new life for herself.

This is a romantic read. The romantic interest being Raphael, the neighbour who wants the cottage for himself and, who from the very beginning she can't stop thinking about. He is dark and handsome, but he too has flaws and although I wasn't particularly fond of him at the beginning, I realised that he was misunderstood and I grew to love him. Some of the best dialogue in this book is between Hannah and Raphael, some made me laugh, others made me cry. They just worked so beautifully together on the page.

The book however is not just about Hannah and Raphael, as we meet so many other colourful characters along the way who inhabit this small Cornish village. Lizzie really touched my heart, the woman whose Hannah's grandma allowed to live on the farm in a ramshackle caravan. She made me laugh out loud and at other times my heart ached for this lady. Such beautiful writing.

Winter Without You is an exquisite read, that's perfect for those cold winter nights. It's a story about loss and learning to love again, and that sometimes love happens in the most unexpected of places.

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the Advanced Reader Copy. 

Winter Without You is published on 1st Nov by Quercus.


Tuesday, 23 October 2018

#InHerShadow @mredwards



About In Her Shadow

Isabel’s life seemed perfect. Successful business, beautiful house, adoring husband. And then she was dead.

For four years Jessica has never doubted that her sister Isabel’s death was an accident. But when Jessica’s young daughter seems to know long-forgotten details about her aunt’s past, Jessica can’t shake the feeling that there’s a more sinister truth behind the tragedy.

As Jessica unearths disturbing revelations about her sister, and about the people she loved and trusted most, it becomes clear Isabel’s life was less than perfect and that Jessica’s might also be at risk.

Did someone murder Isabel? Are they now after Jessica and her family? The key seems to lie in the hands of a child. Can Isabel reveal the truth from beyond the grave, or is the answer closer to home?

In Her Shadow is a gripping tale of family secrets, lies and obsession from the two million copy bestselling author Mark Edwards.

My review of  In Her shadow



In Her Shadow is a chilling read, and one that I could not put down. Mr Edwards really is a master storyteller, giving you just enough information to keep you guessing throughout . This story chilled me to the bone with its otherworldly  tale that was fully believable.

The story revolves around the death of Isabel. The sister who had apparently had it all. The perfect home, life and marriage. On the surface everything seemed good, but as we make our way through the book it becomes apparent that things were not as they seemed. 

It is Jessica's story to tell and it is told exceptionally well. The resentment that she felt towards her sister, and then the guilt for not being there. The story cleverly examines the bond between sisters and how this relationship shifts over time. Even though this book is a chilling thriller, with a little girl at its core, it's also an exploration into family life.

There was a deep sense of unease as I made my way through the pages. The darkness that could never quite be shaken off. This uneasiness was magnified because it is Jessica's young daughter, four-year-old Olivia, who is unearthing the secrets of the past, shedding light on how Isabel lived and what may have happened to her.

In Her Shadow is a cracking page turner of a read that I thoroughly enjoyed  it's a tale of loss and death, the importance of family and seeking the truth, no matter what the cost. Highly recommended

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the Advanced Reader Copy.

In Her Shadow is published by Thomas & Mercer on 4 Oct. 2018.

Thursday, 11 October 2018

#LiesBetweenUs @Ronnie__Turner @HQDigitalUK




About Lies Between Us 



Will they ever learn the truth?
Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .


My review of Lies Between Us 




Lies Between Us is one dark and menacing book. From the very offset you know that something very bad has happened and this sense of unease sets the tone for the rest of the book. It is an uneasy read, and some scenes I did find disturbing, but at its heart is the exploration of family and belongng, and I found this incredibly interesting. This exploration of human nature. 

The book is told through the voices of three narrators. John, the father, the family man whose daughter mysteriously disappears. I bonded very quickly with John. Feeling his pain and anguish, and just like him, wondering who had taken his daughter and why. We also read Maisie's point of view, an ICU nurse. I loved this character and the exploration of her past. It was Miller, who we first meet as a young child, that both chilled and disturbed me. His obsessive and controlling behaviour unnerved me and I questioned what made this little boy behave in such a cruel and evil way. I wanted to try and understand him. But I felt I never did. 

This book is incredibly clever with sharp writing that packs a punch. It has that sense of foreboding running throughout the pages, wanting to unearth its truths. At the beginning I had no idea how all of these characters were linked, but as I quickly made my way through the novel, I raced through the pages, I began to slowly learn how the events were connected, completely taking me by surprise. 

The Lies Between Us is an unsettling, dark and menacing read that deals with some very disturbing topics. It is a page turner that jumps back and forwards in time, and as such, held my interest throughout. A psychological thriller that is chilling and packed full of suspense. 

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy. 

Lies Between Us is published by HQ Digital on 1st October.


About the author




Ronnie Turner grew up in Cornwall, the youngest in a large family. At an early age, she discovered a love of literature and dreamed of being a published author. Ronnie now lives in Dorset with her family and three dogs. In her spare time, she reviews books on her blog and enjoys long walks on the coast. She is currently working on her second novel.


Ronnie's debut novel, Lies Between Us, will be published by HQ Digital in October 2018.



Follow the blog tour...







Monday, 8 October 2018

#EyesOfTheBlind @Alex_Tresillian @urbanebooks





About Eyes of the Blind

A young blind woman receives the world's first and miraculous binocular eye transplant, but questions surround the operation. Why was she selected? And why is a major charity so keen to put up the huge amount of collateral to make the operation happen? Enter Niall Burnet, unemployed and visually impaired journalist, who believes all is not as it appears and searches for answers. Using his network of contacts he begins to unearth a conspiracy in the higher echelons of the charity, a conspiracy determined to ensure the transplant is a 'heroic failure'. When an ex-girlfriend is blinded, his guide dog is knocked down in a hit and run, and a doctor commits suicide, Niall joins forces with the 'miracle patient' to find out the truth a truth that will threaten their very lives.



My review of Eyes of the Blind





This book grabbed my attention with its tagine of ' We Can't Always See the Truth'. This, plus the fact that the protagonist is visually impaired,  screamed at me that that this book would be a different type of read from the usual crime stroke who done it type that I tend to read. I like to read books that blur the boundaries of genre and this book did exactly that - it's a brilliant read.

The character or Niall Burnet fascinated me. He made me laugh, I liked him from the moment I met him. It was pointed out at the very beginning that Niall is visually impaired and, that is that. It's not the dominant factor in this book, although the story revolves around the blind and visually impaired community as it delves into the practices of the charity that are behind the world's first eye transplant. It's not Niall's inability to see the world that defines him, but the fact that he is a damn good journalist who will stop at nothing to uncover the truth.

This is a cracking read with deception, and corruption at its very heart, that  makes you question every character that you meet, and that if what you are being told is the absolute truth.  I raced through the pages in my haste to find out who was determined to stop Niall in his search for the truth.

The Eyes of the Blind is a gripping read. It'kept my attention throughout, features intriguing characters that you can't help but care about, and a protagonist that just gets under your skin. it's a thought provoking read that as well as being an entertaining read, also manages to smash the stereotype that blind and visually impaired people are somehow incapable of leading a 'normal' life.  I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

I purchased my own copy.

Eyes of the Blind is published by Urbane Publications and is available to read in paperback and kindle.

Thursday, 4 October 2018

#InAHouseOfLies @Beathhigh @orionbooks



About In A House of Lies

IN A HOUSE OF LIES...
Everyone has something to hide
A missing private investigator is found, locked in a car hidden deep in the woods. Worse still - both for his family and the police - is that his body was in an area that had already been searched.

Everyone has secrets
Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is part of a new inquiry, combing through the mistakes of the original case. There were always suspicions over how the investigation was handled and now - after a decade without answers - it's time for the truth.

Nobody is innocent
Every officer involved must be questioned, and it seems everyone on the case has something to hide, and everything to lose. But there is one man who knows where the trail may lead - and that it could be the end of him: John Rebus.






My review of In A House Of Lies


I'll just start by saying that I am a huge Rebus fan and couldn't wait to dive on into this book and to be reunited with an old friend, because that's how he feels to me. In fact, it was lovely being back in Edinburgh, albeit in the darkest of circumstances, that of investigating the murder of a private investigator.

The opening of the novel instantly grabbed my attention. It's dark, disturbing and you wonder what exactly is going to be unearthed next. The body of the man found deep in the woods is investigated by Siobhan Clarke, who is also assisted by the now retired John Rebus. This murder is linked to past and buried secrets, that the police need to unravel to find the truth. It's one cracker of a crime story,  that kept me continually guessing.

At the heart of this novel is the relationship between Rebus and Clarke. I love the interaction between these two. The years of friendship shines through. Some of my favourite passages are when these two get together, for me it's that perfect on page chemistry. The respect and admiration, that special bond that they have shines from the page.

As a huge Rebus fan I loved this book, and even if you're a new reader, you'll still enjoy this book, as a stand alone crime novel. I just wonder how many more Rebus books are in the pipeline, now that he is in his advancing years. I hope there are many more books to come. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

With thanks to NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy.

In a  House of Lies is published by Orion on 4th October.