Contact Me...

Friday, 14 December 2018

#TheSilentPatient @AlexMichaelides @orionbooks





About The Silent Patient 


ALICIA

Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet - and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can't bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

THEO

Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia's silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?



My review of The Silent Patient 






The Silent Patient was an energising, shocking and addictive read. I kept telling myself, just five more minutes, but this inevitably stretched out to an hour. It's that good. I couldn't put it down.

This book works on so many different levels. It's a chilling thriller of a read, in that we do not know why Alicia shot her husband five times. This in itself is both shocking and disturbing, but as we read Alicia's diary and Theo's thoughts, we learn even more disturbing facts. I was on the edge of my seat as I was drawn deeper into this deeply disturbing tale.

We also have two engaging central characters. Alicia is the silent patient, but we learn about her from her diary entries and what is said about her by the doctors and other patients in the secure psychiatric hospital. Although her actions are unthinkable and barbaric, I felt great sympathy towards Alicia. I knew that I should not feel this way, as the woman we read of In the diary entries is a juxtaposition to the woman who killed her husband. I too, wanted to solve the mystery.

We then have Alex, the psychotherapist, 
and it was him that I found most interesting. He becomes obsessed with the case and making Alicia speak. He is convinced that he is the only one who can make her talk and this is his driving force. Here is a man with his own secrets and troubled past which influence his decisions today I found him most fascinating and the scenes between him and Alicia simply fizzed with tension and unease on the page. I found myself holding my breath. 

This is one disturbing and gripping read. Why did Alicia kill her husband? Did she kill her husband? Why will she not speak? I had so many theories that  came and went as I progressed through the book. And I was shocked as to what had really happened. The ending blew me away. 

The Silent Patient is a clever; unique and disturbing thriller. Believe the hype. This book is already huge.

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing a review copy. 

The Silent Patient is publushed by Orion on 7th Feb. 

Wednesday, 12 December 2018

#ThePromise @TeresaDriscoll #BookReview



About The Promise

The chilling new psychological thriller from the #1 bestselling author of I Am Watching You.

It was their darkest secret. Three schoolgirls made a promise – to take the horrible truth of what they did to the grave.

Thirty years later, Beth and Sally have tried to put the trauma behind them. Though Carol has distanced herself from her former friends, the three are adamant that the truth must never come to light, even if the memory still haunts them.

But when some shocking news threatens to unearth their dark secret, Beth enlists the help of private investigator Matthew Hill to help her and Sally reconnect with estranged Carol ­– before the terrible act they committed as teenagers is revealed.

Beth wishes she could take back the vow they made.

But somebody is watching and will stop at nothing to ensure the secret stays buried. Now, with her beloved family in peril, can Beth still keep the promise?

My review of The Promise



I thoroughly enjoyed this dark and brooding psychological thriller. The premise of a dark hidden secret and a promise to keep that secret between three schoolgirls instantly grabbed my attention. I needed to find out what had happened and how this  secret and the promise they made had impacted all of their lives.

The writing simmered with unease as I followed Beth's story. Now a married mum, it was evident on the page that her past and the shared secret still had an impact on her life today.

Throughout the story we catch glimpses of what happened in the past between Beth, Sally and Carol. But it's not until the very end that the truth is revealed and it did shock me. It is this secret that binds the story together and which made me race through the pages in my need to discover the truth.

I loved Beth. She's a likeable character and was very real to me. I found her relationship with Sally fascinating, learning how the two girls had bonded over this shared secret and whose relationship continued to grow through into adulthood. Beth's struggle to keep the secret at all costs, and to reconnect with Carol were completely understandable.

We then have the additional storyline involving Matthew, the private investigator,  who helps Beth and Sally in their search for Carol, knowing that there is far more to the story. I loved the interaction between these three characters and the fact that Matthew had his own secret.

The Promise is an unsettling and entertaining read. Packed with tension, dark secrets and a truth that will shock. The author tackles a sensitive subject with empathy and understanding.

If you love psychological thrillers with characters that you deeply care for and a griping plot, then you'll enjoy this book.

With thanks to the publisher for the Advanced Reader Copy  for review purposes.

The Promise is published by Thomas & Mercer on 7 Feb. 2019.

Monday, 10 December 2018

#TheChestnutMan #SørenSveistrup #NordicNoir



About The Chestnut Man

One blustery October morning in a quiet Copenhagen suburb, the police make a terrible discovery. A young woman is found brutally murdered with one of her hands missing. Above her hangs a small doll made of chestnuts.

Ambitious young detective Naia Thulin is assigned the case. Her partner, Mark Hess, is a burned-out investigator who's just been kicked out of Europol. They soon discover a mysterious piece of evidence on the chestnut man - evidence connecting it to a girl who went missing a year earlier and is presumed dead; the daughter of politician Rosa Hartung. The man who confessed to her murder is behind bars and the case long since closed.

Soon afterwards, a second woman is found murdered, along with another chestnut man. Thulin and Hess suspect that there's a connection between the Hartung case and the murdered women. But what is it?

Thulin and Hess are racing against the clock, because it's clear that the killer is on a mission that is far from over . . .

My review of The Chestnut Man 




Wow. This book is amazing! it's dark, it's disturbing, it's sexy and it has so many twists and turns with an ending that truly shocked ne. As soon as I saw the cover and read the blurb I knew I needed to read this book. The Killing still remains one of my favourite TV shows, and so I hoped to read a book that would echo its darkness, energy, and sinister goings-on. I wasn't disapointed. This is an addictive, disturbing and clever work of Nordic noir that kept me gripped until the very last page. I loved it.

The book opens with a deeply disturbing and unsettling scene that sets the tone for the entire book. Set thirty years before present day events,  you don't know what relevance this has to the present day storyline, but it has the effect of making you feel uneasy and on your guard.

We are then introduced to Naia Thulin, a detective with the  Copenhagen police and single mum. She is partnered with Mark Hess, a detective who has been kicked out of Europol and who has been put on the case, with most thinking he is not up to the job. These two characters make such a wonderful partnership. I loved their interactions. 

Thulin speaks her mind, is strong, resourceful and wants to leave the department in search of a  promotion.  The murders give her a chance to prove herself and she wants to fight for the victims, to solve the case. Hess also becomes heavily invested and begins to uncover many truths. He believes that the murders are linked to the Rosa Hartung case, the politician whose daughter was murdered. But will anyone take him seriously because of what happened in his past?

This book is a brilliant crime thriller and is  dark, gruesome and grisly, with a sense of foreboding running throughout. But there is humour to be found and a real human element, as I cared deeply for these two detectives and the Hartung family. I felt very protective towards them. 

The book reads very much like a film. I could see the action and setting so clearly in my mind, not surprising as Søren Sveistrup wrote The Killing. it will make a fabulous TV series.

The Chestnut Man is dark and derails some disturbing and upsetting storylines. But all are in context and integral to the overall plot. One thing is for sure, i will never look at chestnuts in quite the same way again. If you love your nordic noir, then cosy on up with this book when it's released in January.


With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy.

The Chestnut Man is published by Michael Joseph on 10 Jan. 2019)

Tuesday, 4 December 2018

#AChristmasGift @SueMoorcroft @AvonBooksUK






About A Christmas Gift 


One Christmas can change everything…

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

My review of A Christmas Gift 




A Christmas Gift is a wonderful, cosy, romantic read. It makes you feel good and it was such a treat to curl up in my favourite chair to read this story. It's a beautiful modern day romance set at Christmas and I loved it. 

Georgine France is in a spot of trouble. Her ex boyfriend, Aidan, has left her with mounting debts and she is struggling to pay them. Ever cheerful and resourceful, Georgine throws herself into work at the local college as they prepare for their Christmas production. Now, Georgine  is a fabulous character There is so much to like about her. She is clever, resourceful, giving and cares about her local community. I couldn't help but like her.

We then have Joe Blackthorne, who comes into her life as the new assistant director and oh my, I fell in love with him. Here is a man who on the surface appears to have it all, but he too has his own secrets. His storyline I found quite emotional, and I think Ms Moorcroft got his back story spot on. There is an obvious attraction  between Joe and Georgine that simply fizzled on the page. I loved their interactions. 

Although a beautiful winter romance, this book does touch upon serious issues, like those of financial debts. This is incredibly  relevant to the world we live in today, with food banks, and austeerity. This issue was dealt with gently and with compassion and understanding. It's a book for our modern times. 

A Christmas Gift is the perfect read for those cold winter nights.  It restores your faith in humanity as you read about this close knit  village community. A pure joy to read. 

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the digital review copy. 

A Christmas Gift was published by Avon 4th October. 

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

#Scrublands #ChrisHammer @Wildfirebks




About Scrublands 

A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets...

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.



My review of Scrublands




Scrublands is a compelling crime novel set in the blistering heat of the Australian scrublands and it captivated me from beginning to end. 

The novel opens with the shocking and disturbing actions of the young local priest, who on a quiet Sunday morning before church shoots dead five men. I was left shocked and bewildered as to why he would commit such an evil  act. So too are the inhabitants of Riversend, who exist on a day to day basis in their dying town. 

Martin Scarsden is the outdider, the journalist who visits the town one year  after the shootings to write an article about how the town is coping one year on. But Martin starts to as is questions about the young priest and therefore who knew nim, digging deeper to  try and unearth the truth. Then, when two bodies are dis covered in thescrublands, he begins to investigate what has happened in this sleepy town, that most people strive to leave. 

This is an incredibly clever crime novel with a huge emphasis on setting and characterisation. I began to care deeply about Martin, and was hugely invested in him and his own struggle with his past. This inner struggle and need for acceptance is played out in the colourful characters that he meets in the town. You are never quite sure who you can trust and who is telling the truth. Just like Martin, I felt very much like the outsider and  desperately needed to know the truth. 

The oppressive, cloying heat and almost claustrophobic setting of Riversend creates a novel in which you can smell the heat and taste the dry air. It creates a sense of unease and highlights the realities of living in this type of town where everyone knows your name and personal business.

This debut novel is a dazzling and all consuming read about love, past atrocities and mental health. It's about a sense of community that is both suffocating and protective at the same time. It's a story that will stay with me for a very long time. 

With thanks to @Bookywookydooda for sending me a review copy for review purposes. 

Scrublands is published by Wildfire in hardback on  8 Jan. The kindle version is available to read now. 

Friday, 23 November 2018

#BloodWhiteAndBlue @JamesSilvester1 @urbanebooks





About Blood, White and Blue

Love, deception and murder dominate as thriller writer James Silvester delivers the first in the Lucie Musilova series.

Britain is a hotbed of racial tension and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected MP, can bring about a successful resolution to the talks. But a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees.

Lucie Musilova meanwhile, is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she meets 'Mr. Lake', the eccentric Head of a branch of the intelligence services known as The Overlappers, and is press-ganged into service on the Hartnell case.

As events spiral out of control it soon becomes clear it is not just the future of the nation that is at stake, but Lucie's very life....

The new thriller from the bestselling author of Escape to Perdition and The Prague Ultimatum, is a gripping tale of corruption and perfect for fans of Luke Jennings, Daniel Silva and Stella Rimington. If you're a fan of Killing Eve you'll love this!

My review of Blood, White and Blue




Wow. Where do I start with this book, other than to say it is utterly brilliant. I raced through the pages. It has everything. A plot that twists and turns, lots of fast paced action, Brexit and a kick-ass heroine who you just can't help but admire and root for. I loved this book!

Lucie Musilova is the star of this book and  she is completely mesmerising. She has a colourful past, having worked as a chaplain in the RAF, something which surprised me, given how she responded to a group of men who  attacked her while she was working aboard a ship on its way to England. I won't say what happens, but this truly captured my attention. I needed to know more about this woman and what had happened to her. I needed to understand her.

This book tackles some serious issues head on, such as political unrest surrounding Brexit, political scandal, immigration and the growing sense of unease  created  by the far right. It's a thought provoking read that is hugely  relevant to today's political climate, and although a bloody good thriller, the social commentary running throughout the plot, creates an in depth and moving read about a woman who is hugely misunderstood.

Blood, White and Blue is the first book in the Lucie Musilova series and I honestly can't wait to read the next instalment.

I purchased my own kindle copy of the book.

Blood, White and Blue was purblished on November 8th by Urbane.

Thursday, 15 November 2018

#Hellcorp @JDWhitelaw13 @urbanebooks



About Hellcorp 

"Hellcorp sparkles like a blood-black diamond. Satan's got his work cut out in this darkly comic crime tale. A cracking read!" - Mark Leggatt

'HELLCORP combines suspense, humour, and philosophy in a startlingly unique novel. Whitelaw delights and entertains while leaving readers contemplating life's important issues. Don't miss this razor-sharp book.' --International bestseller K.J. Howe, author of THE FREEDOM BROKER and SKYJACK

Life is hard for The Devil and he desperately wants to take a holiday. Growing weary from playing the cosmic bad guy, he resolves to set up a company that will do his job for him so the sins of the world will tick over while he takes a vacation. God tells him he can have his vacation just as soon as he solves an ancient crime.

But nothing is ever easy and before long he is up to his pitchfork in solving murders, desperate to crack the case so he can finally take the holiday he so badly needs...

This is a perfectly-pitched darkly comic crime novel that is ideal for fans of Christopher Fowler and Ben Aaranovitch.



My review of Hellcorp



Hellcorp has been on my radar for quite a while now. As Halloween fast approached I knew it was the perfect time to pick this up and immerse myself in the world of the Devil and the afterlife. I loved every word.

This is a novel with rich darkly comic undertones that suited my reading style perfectly. It was the perfect pick me up read, with engaging characters, action packed scenes and a murder mystery to boot. This book really does have it all.

The main attraction for me was the Devil, and to be honest he was completely different to the impression that I had in my mind before I started reading this book. He's a much better version. He is charming and offensive all rolled into one. He made me laugh, he made me cringe, but ultimately he was honest and this was why I found myself drawn to him. i even fell a little bit in love with him, which took me completely by surprise. It's not just the Devil who gets to have fun though, as so does Jill Gideon, a doctor who he meets on earth, who has her own private battle to face.

As the book blurb states, even the Devil needs a holiday, and that is why he has been asked to solve a 40 year old murder. Doing so will grant him this wish, and what results is a breathtaking sequence of events as he tries to unravel the mysteries of the past. 

Hellcorp is a truly unique read. The Devil is a striking protagonist  that allows Jill Gideon to share his limelight. It's hugely entertaining, has lashings of razer sharp wit and a plot that will keep you guessing. I absolutely loved it. 

Hellcorp is available to buy now and is published by Urbane Publications. 

Saturday, 3 November 2018

#OurLifeInADay @jamiefewery @orionbooks


About Our Life in a Day

Our Life in a Day is a breathtaking ten-year love story told in twenty-four individual hours - for fans of The Note by Zoe Folbigg, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, and One Day by David Nicholls.

The rules are simple. Choose the most significant moments from your relationship - one for each hour in the day.
You'd probably pick when you first met, right?
And the instant you knew for sure it was love?
Maybe even the time you watched the sunrise after your first night together?

But what about the car journey on the holiday where everything started to go wrong?
Or your first proper fight?

Or that time you lied about where you'd been?

It's a once in a lifetime chance to learn the truth. But if you had to be completely honest with the one you love, would you still play?

For Esme and Tom, the game is about to begin. And once they start, there's no going back . . .

My review of Our Life in a Day




Oh my heart. I absolutely loved this book. It's a story about love, about our mental health and of how we need to be true to each other, but more importantly, true to who we are.  It's a thought provoking read that l just simply adored it's a beautiful story.

Esme and Tom are about to celebrate their ten year anniversary together. Tom arrives home from work to find Esme wanting to play a game of remembrance. She has a stack of post it notes, and on each is written one hour of the day. They both have to take it in turns to write down a significant memory in time, all  within that time frame. 24 hours in a day, and Tom decides to play. I absolutely loved this idea of reminiscing about the past, of all those highly significant moments in time, but of course, not everything is good. 

This is an intense read, in that we get to know both Esme and Tom, warts and all. I love this kind of book, in which you delve into the character's soul to find out what makes them tick. By the end of the novel I felt like they were my friends. I loved them both dearly.

Our Life in a Day also doesn't shy away from the realities of a long term relationship and mental health issues, particularly the mental health of men and the fact that they feel the need to hide their feelings and problems that they face. This aspect was written beaufifuly,  with great empathy, and insight. It's a book that I feel will help us all to talk more openly about our mental health.

This is a modern day love story that tackles the realities of the modern relationship with wit, tenderness and truth. I loved every page. Highly recommended.

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy.

Our Life in a Day is published by Orion in Kindle on 27th December .

Paperback available April 2019.

Monday, 29 October 2018

#WinterWithoutYou @BethGoodWriter @Quercusbooks



About Winter Without You

What do you do when you lose everything?

After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she's inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it's time to face reality.

Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it's rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult man who quickly gets under her skin.

But as winter sets in, there's one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all..


My review of Winter Without You




Winter Without You is a pure delight. I enjoyed every single page. It's one of those books that you cosy up with, that allow you to escape the realities of the world. It's a warm and comforting hug of a book and I loved it.

Hannah is at the centre of the story. Following the death of her boyfriend she learns that she has inherited a cottage in Cornwall, and she makes the bold decision to relocate there in order to start her life afresh. She desperately  needs this new beginning and we follow her journey as she sets up home, makes friends and tries to make a new life for herself.

This is a romantic read. The romantic interest being Raphael, the neighbour who wants the cottage for himself and, who from the very beginning she can't stop thinking about. He is dark and handsome, but he too has flaws and although I wasn't particularly fond of him at the beginning, I realised that he was misunderstood and I grew to love him. Some of the best dialogue in this book is between Hannah and Raphael, some made me laugh, others made me cry. They just worked so beautifully together on the page.

The book however is not just about Hannah and Raphael, as we meet so many other colourful characters along the way who inhabit this small Cornish village. Lizzie really touched my heart, the woman whose Hannah's grandma allowed to live on the farm in a ramshackle caravan. She made me laugh out loud and at other times my heart ached for this lady. Such beautiful writing.

Winter Without You is an exquisite read, that's perfect for those cold winter nights. It's a story about loss and learning to love again, and that sometimes love happens in the most unexpected of places.

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the Advanced Reader Copy. 

Winter Without You is published on 1st Nov by Quercus.


Tuesday, 23 October 2018

#InHerShadow @mredwards



About In Her Shadow

Isabel’s life seemed perfect. Successful business, beautiful house, adoring husband. And then she was dead.

For four years Jessica has never doubted that her sister Isabel’s death was an accident. But when Jessica’s young daughter seems to know long-forgotten details about her aunt’s past, Jessica can’t shake the feeling that there’s a more sinister truth behind the tragedy.

As Jessica unearths disturbing revelations about her sister, and about the people she loved and trusted most, it becomes clear Isabel’s life was less than perfect and that Jessica’s might also be at risk.

Did someone murder Isabel? Are they now after Jessica and her family? The key seems to lie in the hands of a child. Can Isabel reveal the truth from beyond the grave, or is the answer closer to home?

In Her Shadow is a gripping tale of family secrets, lies and obsession from the two million copy bestselling author Mark Edwards.

My review of  In Her shadow



In Her Shadow is a chilling read, and one that I could not put down. Mr Edwards really is a master storyteller, giving you just enough information to keep you guessing throughout . This story chilled me to the bone with its otherworldly  tale that was fully believable.

The story revolves around the death of Isabel. The sister who had apparently had it all. The perfect home, life and marriage. On the surface everything seemed good, but as we make our way through the book it becomes apparent that things were not as they seemed. 

It is Jessica's story to tell and it is told exceptionally well. The resentment that she felt towards her sister, and then the guilt for not being there. The story cleverly examines the bond between sisters and how this relationship shifts over time. Even though this book is a chilling thriller, with a little girl at its core, it's also an exploration into family life.

There was a deep sense of unease as I made my way through the pages. The darkness that could never quite be shaken off. This uneasiness was magnified because it is Jessica's young daughter, four-year-old Olivia, who is unearthing the secrets of the past, shedding light on how Isabel lived and what may have happened to her.

In Her Shadow is a cracking page turner of a read that I thoroughly enjoyed  it's a tale of loss and death, the importance of family and seeking the truth, no matter what the cost. Highly recommended

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the Advanced Reader Copy.

In Her Shadow is published by Thomas & Mercer on 4 Oct. 2018.

Thursday, 11 October 2018

#LiesBetweenUs @Ronnie__Turner @HQDigitalUK




About Lies Between Us 



Will they ever learn the truth?
Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .


My review of Lies Between Us 




Lies Between Us is one dark and menacing book. From the very offset you know that something very bad has happened and this sense of unease sets the tone for the rest of the book. It is an uneasy read, and some scenes I did find disturbing, but at its heart is the exploration of family and belongng, and I found this incredibly interesting. This exploration of human nature. 

The book is told through the voices of three narrators. John, the father, the family man whose daughter mysteriously disappears. I bonded very quickly with John. Feeling his pain and anguish, and just like him, wondering who had taken his daughter and why. We also read Maisie's point of view, an ICU nurse. I loved this character and the exploration of her past. It was Miller, who we first meet as a young child, that both chilled and disturbed me. His obsessive and controlling behaviour unnerved me and I questioned what made this little boy behave in such a cruel and evil way. I wanted to try and understand him. But I felt I never did. 

This book is incredibly clever with sharp writing that packs a punch. It has that sense of foreboding running throughout the pages, wanting to unearth its truths. At the beginning I had no idea how all of these characters were linked, but as I quickly made my way through the novel, I raced through the pages, I began to slowly learn how the events were connected, completely taking me by surprise. 

The Lies Between Us is an unsettling, dark and menacing read that deals with some very disturbing topics. It is a page turner that jumps back and forwards in time, and as such, held my interest throughout. A psychological thriller that is chilling and packed full of suspense. 

With thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy. 

Lies Between Us is published by HQ Digital on 1st October.


About the author




Ronnie Turner grew up in Cornwall, the youngest in a large family. At an early age, she discovered a love of literature and dreamed of being a published author. Ronnie now lives in Dorset with her family and three dogs. In her spare time, she reviews books on her blog and enjoys long walks on the coast. She is currently working on her second novel.


Ronnie's debut novel, Lies Between Us, will be published by HQ Digital in October 2018.



Follow the blog tour...







Monday, 8 October 2018

#EyesOfTheBlind @Alex_Tresillian @urbanebooks





About Eyes of the Blind

A young blind woman receives the world's first and miraculous binocular eye transplant, but questions surround the operation. Why was she selected? And why is a major charity so keen to put up the huge amount of collateral to make the operation happen? Enter Niall Burnet, unemployed and visually impaired journalist, who believes all is not as it appears and searches for answers. Using his network of contacts he begins to unearth a conspiracy in the higher echelons of the charity, a conspiracy determined to ensure the transplant is a 'heroic failure'. When an ex-girlfriend is blinded, his guide dog is knocked down in a hit and run, and a doctor commits suicide, Niall joins forces with the 'miracle patient' to find out the truth a truth that will threaten their very lives.



My review of Eyes of the Blind





This book grabbed my attention with its tagine of ' We Can't Always See the Truth'. This, plus the fact that the protagonist is visually impaired,  screamed at me that that this book would be a different type of read from the usual crime stroke who done it type that I tend to read. I like to read books that blur the boundaries of genre and this book did exactly that - it's a brilliant read.

The character or Niall Burnet fascinated me. He made me laugh, I liked him from the moment I met him. It was pointed out at the very beginning that Niall is visually impaired and, that is that. It's not the dominant factor in this book, although the story revolves around the blind and visually impaired community as it delves into the practices of the charity that are behind the world's first eye transplant. It's not Niall's inability to see the world that defines him, but the fact that he is a damn good journalist who will stop at nothing to uncover the truth.

This is a cracking read with deception, and corruption at its very heart, that  makes you question every character that you meet, and that if what you are being told is the absolute truth.  I raced through the pages in my haste to find out who was determined to stop Niall in his search for the truth.

The Eyes of the Blind is a gripping read. It'kept my attention throughout, features intriguing characters that you can't help but care about, and a protagonist that just gets under your skin. it's a thought provoking read that as well as being an entertaining read, also manages to smash the stereotype that blind and visually impaired people are somehow incapable of leading a 'normal' life.  I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

I purchased my own copy.

Eyes of the Blind is published by Urbane Publications and is available to read in paperback and kindle.

Thursday, 4 October 2018

#InAHouseOfLies @Beathhigh @orionbooks



About In A House of Lies

IN A HOUSE OF LIES...
Everyone has something to hide
A missing private investigator is found, locked in a car hidden deep in the woods. Worse still - both for his family and the police - is that his body was in an area that had already been searched.

Everyone has secrets
Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is part of a new inquiry, combing through the mistakes of the original case. There were always suspicions over how the investigation was handled and now - after a decade without answers - it's time for the truth.

Nobody is innocent
Every officer involved must be questioned, and it seems everyone on the case has something to hide, and everything to lose. But there is one man who knows where the trail may lead - and that it could be the end of him: John Rebus.






My review of In A House Of Lies


I'll just start by saying that I am a huge Rebus fan and couldn't wait to dive on into this book and to be reunited with an old friend, because that's how he feels to me. In fact, it was lovely being back in Edinburgh, albeit in the darkest of circumstances, that of investigating the murder of a private investigator.

The opening of the novel instantly grabbed my attention. It's dark, disturbing and you wonder what exactly is going to be unearthed next. The body of the man found deep in the woods is investigated by Siobhan Clarke, who is also assisted by the now retired John Rebus. This murder is linked to past and buried secrets, that the police need to unravel to find the truth. It's one cracker of a crime story,  that kept me continually guessing.

At the heart of this novel is the relationship between Rebus and Clarke. I love the interaction between these two. The years of friendship shines through. Some of my favourite passages are when these two get together, for me it's that perfect on page chemistry. The respect and admiration, that special bond that they have shines from the page.

As a huge Rebus fan I loved this book, and even if you're a new reader, you'll still enjoy this book, as a stand alone crime novel. I just wonder how many more Rebus books are in the pipeline, now that he is in his advancing years. I hope there are many more books to come. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

With thanks to NetGalley for the Advanced Reader Copy.

In a  House of Lies is published by Orion on 4th October.

Thursday, 27 September 2018

#TheWinteThatMadeUs @katehaswords @AccentPress








About  The Winter That Made Us


When Tess finds herself unexpectedly alone and back in Ribblemill, the childhood village she thought she’d escaped, she’s sure she can survive a temporary stay. She’s spent a lifetime making the best of things, hasn’t she?

Determined to throw herself into village life, Tess starts a choir and gathers a team of volunteers to restore the walled garden at Ramblings, the local stately home. Everything could be perfect, if she weren’t sharing a cottage and a cat with a man whose manner is more prickly than the nettles she’s removing…

As winter approaches, Tess finds herself putting down her own roots as fast as she’s pulling them up in the garden. But the ghosts of the past hover close by, and Tess must face them if she’s to discover whether home is where her heart has been all along.






My review of The Winter That Made Us

Oh my heart! Kate Field has only gone and done it again with another beautiful heartfelt and poignant story set deep within the Lancashire countryside.  I LOVED everything about this book. It was a joyous and comforting read from beginning to end, and will be sure to warm up the coldest of nights. It's just so beautiful.

The Winter That Made Us is a touching story about two lost and damaged souls who are thrown together in a tiny village where everyone knows your business. Tess is back home from the big city after waving her husband off to work overseas. She tells her parents that he'll be gone for a year, hence why she has come back home. From the very moment I met Tess on the page I knew that there was so much more to this story, and  surrounding the relationship with her mother; what we see on the surface isn't always what's inside.

Tess rents a room in Cobweb Cottage, and while she accepts this offer from Cassie, it's owner, so too does Noah, after receiving the same offer from Barney,  Cassie's husband. So, these two characters set up a shared home under the roof of Cobweb Cottage and what follows is a truly magical, poignant and consuming story.

The real star of this book for me, was Noah. He won my heart from the very first moment I met him. Here is a man with a damaged soul who thinks he will never be whole again. I was deeply invested in his story. I wanted everything to work out for him. For him to be happy and to have a real place in the community. There is such beautiful writing surrounding this character, in the fact that he is a man of nature, of the outdoors, that he smells of the earth and fresh air.

This book does tackle serious issues, and a huge theme is that of mental health. It was obvious to me that the author had done much research surrounding walled gardens (I now must visit one) and the fact that gardening and having your hands in the  soil is not only beneficial for physical health, but is also good for the mind and soul.

This book really is a heart-warming read. It's a book about community, that there is a place for everyone and that at the end of the day we are all the same, in that we need to feel loved and be able to give love. This book broke, and then mended my heart. A gorgeous, uplifting and poignant read. All the stars. 

With thanks to the author who sent me a digital copy for review purposes.

The Winter That Made Us is published by Accent Press and is available to buy now

Monday, 24 September 2018

The Cold Cold Sea @LindaHuber19





About The Cold Cold Sea

They stared at each other, and Maggie felt the tightness in her middle expand as it shifted, burning its way up… Painful sobs rose in her throat as Colin, his face expressionless now, reached for his mobile and tapped 999.

When three-year-old Olivia disappears from the beach, a happy family holiday comes to an abrupt end. Maggie is plunged into the darkest nightmare imaginable – what happened to her little girl?

Further along the coast, another mother is having problems too. Jennifer's daughter Hailey is starting school, and it should be such a happy time, but the child has become moody and silent. Family life has never seemed so awkward, and Jennifer struggles to maintain control.

The tide ebbs and flows, and summer dies, but there is no comfort for Maggie, alone now at the cottage, or for Jennifer, still swamped by doubts.





My review of The Cold Cold Sea


The Cold Cold Sea is a story that unsettled me. It's a story about the bonds of family, about caring for a child and of the emotional and physical frailties following the disappearance of a child The subject matter is dark, with beautiful and stark writing that cannot help but touch the soul. It's a chilling read about human fragility. I loved this book.

The book has has three interweaving stories At first we meet Maggie and her husband Colin, who while on holiday in Cornwall suffer a family tragedy, when their three year old daughter goes missing, and is believed to have been lost at sea. We read Maggie's thoughts and feelings during this period,  of how she blames herself. We watch a family slowly unravelling under the emotional pressure.

The story also focusses upon Jennifer who is mother to five year old little girl. Her daughter is moody and it's obvious that there are deep rooted problems. Jennifer has to deal with this alone as her husband is away in America, at the bedside of his dying grandmother. The strain in their relationship is palpable on the page, as is the strain and difficulties between mother and daughter.

Although this book is beautifully written, the prose set against the wildness of the Cornish coast, it was a difficult book to read due to the subject matter. Any book that focusses upon a missing child is difficult to read, but the author manages to tackle this subject with sensitivity and great care, so that what you then get is an insightful and  engaging read, that you simply can't put down. Although I guessed pretty early on the 'how', I wanted to understand the 'why'. This is the central core of this psychological chiller.

The Cold Cold Sea is one dark and unsettling read.  This book sent chills down my spine and left me thinking about the characters long after the final words.

With thanks to the author for providing a copy for review purposes.